發文作者:c.w. | 26 三月, 2005

Chocolate Factory

Writing about web page http://www.menierchocolatefactory.com/

Yes, I admit. I only went there for the name of the venue. The play Mercury Fur is another sold out in London last week. (I wonder how many shows are not sold out there. Holidays.) As usual I gave up the idea of putting myself in waiting list but waited in front of the box office putting the tag on my face saying “A Ticket Needed." It works as far as it goes only if we don’t care about the seat of the night.

This chocolate factory is a bit scary in the dark, since it was my last night in London this time, I persuaded myself to be patient and waited to see what could happen. Then, the next minute a Spanish girl, also is a Theatre PhD student, sold me her extra ticket and we had a wonderful discussion. She is doing Sarah Kane, of course also paying attention to other contemporary British playwrights. The other sold out she mentioned and I didn’t know at all was the Breathing Corporse in Royal Court. I came home doing some research trying to figure out why it seems 1. I could easily befriended with Spainsh or Portuguese girls. 2. they all in similar fields such as contemporary British writings.

We couldn’t answer the first question in an easy way, but the second one is an iceberg of quite a phenomenal fact I have ignored for a long time. A great part of contemporary British theatre is founded on an large numbers

of playwrighting with kaleidoscopic perspectives. Mercury Fur shocked me in its in depth discussion of war, humanity, sexuality, family and the manipulation of languages, history, myths and legends. I used to be quite dissapointed about the new playwrights, written texts to be more specifically, and got surprised to know we could continue to study on contemporary plays nowadays. Now it struck me if we stop talking them in any academic levels, that definitely would be a huge gap in knowing some of our minds and our life today.


回應

  1. The most exciting productions in London are coming from new writings, you can always expect them from Royal Court. I was actually thinking about getting a pair of tickets of Breathing Corpses the other day, even highlighting my Time Out: pity was they didnt sell standing tickets, otherwise you can get it’s 10 pence for a show.

    (link) If you read the Guardian in a regular base, youd not miss the news that two plays of hers (Laura Wade) were staged at the same period in London. (and dont dismay the waiting queue in any West-End and/or off-West-End theatre otherwise youll got chided. You can try.XD )

    New writing is always one of the centre fields in some British academia. I reckon what people dont like are those writing in the USA styles, plainly lacking of imagination its quite different here in Lonodn.


發表留言

分類